Cllr Bhekabantu Mtshali elected as new Chief Whip Gert Sibanade District Municipality


Following the recent passing of Siboniso Nkosi who was  the Chief Whip of Council, GSDM Council has  successfully elected the new Whip  during a virtual Council meeting on Friday, 22 July 2022.

The Speaker of Council Cllr Busisiwe Sekhonde led the election process where Cllr Mtshali of the African National Congress (ANC) received the most votes and has since been elected to office as the new Whip of Council.

Cllr Mtshali who is originally from Mkhondo (formerly Piet Retief) has been a Councillor of the ANC for many years trusted with many positions such as the responsibility of being the Executive Mayor at Mkhondo Local Municipality from 2011 to 2016. His political career is bright with roles such as being the member of the Johannesburg Youth Congress from 1988 to 1990, SASCO Education convener from 1992, SRC student affairs in Rand College in 1993, SADTU Sports convener (Piet Retief circuit) and treasurer for the South Region. He has been a Ward Councillor for Mkhondo Municipality from 2000 to 2016. He is familiar and experienced with the responsibilities of GSDM Council where he was previously deployed as a Councillor and MMC from 2016 to 2021.

Source: Gert Sibande District municipality communications